Do You Love Rains?

It has been sweltering hot summer and the temperatures soared to all-time highs. Everyone was looking forward to the rainy season to get some relief from the sultry days and nights.

Finally, it rained today and the temperature has fallen down considerably.

Sitting in my office, I could hear the pitter patter of the rain, falling on the window pane and it delighted me instantly. I love the rains and the smiles they bring in.

I got up and went to the window. There were some kids on the road, playing in the puddles of water and that reminded me of the childhood days. Oh How much I miss those good old days!

Rushing to the rooftop to get drenched or making paper boats and sailing them were few exciting things to do during the rainy season. Gobbling up the yummy delicacies- the hot pakoras, bhajias and jalebis, which were prepared especially during the evenings during rains without the stress about gaining weight or consuming more calories with the fried stuff.

As I grew up, I worried about the losses which might happen with the heavy downpour. I can’t imagine the plight of people whose houses are swept away during floods or the difficulties faced by common people due to water clogging,  disturbing the daily life.

I am thankful to God for providing  a roof over my head that provides me shelter and food that fills my stomach.

Now, I just sit back with a hot steaming cup of Coffee/Tea and a book in my bed or just sit by the window and watching the rain pouring outside.

But one thing has not changed over the years and that is I still love the rains !

Do you love rains? What do you do when it is raining ??


Linking this post to  #MondayMusings hosted by Corinne and #MicroblogMondays .

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Do You Love Rains?

  1. Ashley says:

    I don’t always love the rain here at home (on the Eastern side of the US) but what you describe above reminds me of the rains in Nicaragua (where I lived as a Peace Corps Volunteer). After the months of dry, hot weather, the rain was such a relief! It washed away the soot that had collected everywhere, in everything, and left the world feeling cleaner. Sadly, as you also mentioned, the rains could become oppressive and destructive after several months of drenching downpours or one poorly timed hurricane. Enjoy the rain!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Parul Thakur says:

    I love rains too. To be precise, I love watching it rain. Here in Bangalore, it’s been raining everyday and as I read your post I can’t step out for a walk. But then always grateful for the roof over my head. Great picture too!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. nomadwrites says:

    What’s stopping you 😛 Go get drenched for I believe we are the same kids as always. We get a lil busier and need opportunities as such. Huge fan of rains unless I have my lappy or sth else that stops me from stepping out in rain.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mel says:

    I am not a fan of rain. I think I just don’t enjoy being wet. Though I used to love it when it rained during camping trips because it was an excuse to curl up in my sleeping bag and read.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. inquisitivegeet says:

    Rains are lovely. Even when I’m writing this, it’s raining outside, after a really long time! it barely rains here, and whenever they do, I can’t stop being any happier! The smell, the positivity and the happiness it brings is perfect!
    Glad to know you had a great time 🙂

    Cheers
    Geets

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment