In Conversation with Vasantha Vivek!

There are some people who will keep on doing their work and you would never know about their greatness until you know them better. I found this awesome blogger and fell in love with her writings and their simplicity. I am happy to have Vasantha Vivek over my blog today, in continuation of the series of Guest Blogging.

vasantha vivek

Vasantha blogs at mysweetnothings.in . She loves to call herself as a happy woman, daughter, sister, wife, mother, teacher, friend, mentor, seeker, lover. She’s from Kovilpatti, a small town of Southern Tamilnadu of India. She’s a teacher by profession. She worked as a professor at an Engineering College for nearly 15 years. She has learnt a lot as a teacher. She hopes that she had inspired some hearts during that period.  Teaching is her passion Reading is her love. Cooking is her heart. She enjoys reading and writing very much. She starts & ends her days with reading.

She’s guest authoring on various sites like Indian Moms Connect, Monsoon Breeze, Parentous, Women’s Web, mycity4kids & World of Moms. She has been featured on The Times Of Amma, Stories of Motherhood!, Smart Indian Women.

This is her typical day as a Blogger:-

5:00 AM: My day starts with two-line prayer at 5 am. Followed by morning routines and a glass of Methi Water.

5.10 AM: Mostly, I love mindful mornings. It always starts with a short prayer at my most favorite pooja room. The aroma of agarbhathis fills my heart and soul.

5.15 AM: As I am an ISHA follower, I never want to miss my Sambhavi Mahamudra practice in the mornings. It is followed by 10 minutes simple workouts. I love spending time watching, feeding and watering the birds at my terrace after my yoga and meditation.

6.15 AM: I help in cooking with my maid. I enjoy listening to mesmerizing bhakti songs on TV for one hour.

8.30 AM: I go to our nearest Vinayaga Temple most of the days. I spend nearly half an hour reciting slogans, mantras and sing songs at that temple.

9:00  AM: Simple south Indian breakfast.

10 AM to 1 PM: I do my blogging work of reading, writing, commenting and sharing. I prefer to reply to all my reader who has left their loving comments on my posts. Customizing of my blog will be done once in a while. I love to encourage new bloggers. Blogging groups help me to connect with many fabulous bloggers.

1.30 PM: Simple south Indian lunch.

3.00 PM: It’s my personal time. Mostly I will be reading magazines, newspapers or otherwise write in my journal. Spent some time sitting in silence mindfully. It helps me to energize myself for the rest of the day.

4.30 PM: My son returns from home. And it’s our chat/coffee/snacks time. We enjoy it to the most by sharing our day, cracking jokes, singing silly songs.

6.30 PM: My detailed pooja time. I spent nearly 30 minutes in doing elaborate traditional pooja with aarthi, mantras and silence.

7.30 PM: Family dinner time. All of us sit together and have our dinner. This is the time which bonds us more.

8.30 PM: Study time for my son. TV time for my hubby and again reading time or house chore time for me.

10:00 PM: Our good night sleep time. We spent a little time with bedtime stories earlier. But now, it had turned into cricket/movie talk, exploring science and mystery, planning for next day and like that.

4.45 AM Next Day: My mobile alarm rings and blessed with another happy day.


Vasantha has inspired me to focus on mindfulness and meditation. I am grateful to her for instilling this spirit in me which is helping me focus on my never-ending tasks.

You can follow Vasantha at Facebook  or Twitter to know more about her.

4 thoughts on “In Conversation with Vasantha Vivek!

Leave a comment