In Conversation with Tina Basu!

There are times when I am not able to finish one important task and then I see people handling work, looking after kids, taking up all the challenges in life and managing everything so well and most importantly living Life.

There are many bloggers who inspire others with their stories and writings. In continuation of the series of Guest Blogging , today I have Tina Basu,who is a freelance writer, author, blogger, graphic designer and a food enthusiast. When she is not running around a little hyperactive munchkin she blogs at Tina Basu – Being Real Not Perfect where she writes, fictions, girly stuffs and hosts link parties and blog beautiful tutorials. Tina is a self-confessed food obsessed girl and all her love for food is reflected in her food blog Twinkling Tina Cooks.  Tina has been in the FMCG industry for over seven years working as a trade marketing and branding expert.

Here is Tina sharing  A Day in the Life of a Solopreneur Blogger:

There are two kinds of people who – wake up, get ready, rush to work, spend time in meetings, secretly loath the boss and the second kind who – wake up and start working – for themselves! There is no break, no holidays, no sick leaves but at the end of the day you know you are working for yourself and the only person who’ll gain from all the effort is YOU. I have recently promoted myself to the second kind from the first and am loving it.

So what do I do?

I do what I like to do – Write, Blog, Design, Bake – when I am not running after my one and a half year old power house of energy. So how does a day look like in the life of a solopreneur blogger? It all starts with the question WHY? Why should I waste my education? Why should I work for someone else? Why can’t I have it all? When I became a mom, I wanted to give enough time to my son and not leave him in care of anyone else. After having worked for 7 years in the FMCG sector there can be no way I can sit at home doing nothing! I am not meant for the ‘SAHM’ tag! So why not get both the sides of it? I made my passion for writing and designing a little business. We are in pup mode now but our baby steps will lead us to a foothold of its own.

How do I manage to be a mom and a mompreneur?

Managing work with a baby is a challenge. Some people manage to wake up early and start their work, but my son wakes up the moment I do, so that option of working early goes out of the window! I go to sleep with the iPad on my bed side table and when I wake up I read all my mails, Twitter interactions, DMs, Instagram comments, FB Page queries first thing in the morning till the rest of the house is sleeping.
My house help and cook are my saviors – I am heavily dependent on them so that I can focus on work while they take care of the house. The key is to schedule and plan work depending on the timelines given to clients. I take several breaks to give adequate time to my son as well. My only reason to quit my career in FMCG was – I wanted to be a hands-on mom and didn’t want to lose a second of his childhood. I had decided his bathing schedule, sleeping schedule, eating schedule will always be maintained by me. And I am happy that I still am being able to manage that. Bath time is our mom-son play time and I love to see him splash water everywhere. Feeding a toddler is a story in itself, the days he’s in a mood we get through it without bumps but the days he’s not in a mood it involves a lot of running around, story-telling and nursery rhymes on YouTube.

tinabasu1

When do I do serious work?

It is important that you do justice to your work. Most of my serious work – both writing and designing happens in the night after my son is asleep. I tend to work late hours (and this time without too much complains). The peace of the night is perfect for my kind of work and you of course enjoy the company of a good playlist on the iTunes.

Food Obsessed Girl

The birth of Twinkling Tina Cooks happened because I am obsessed with good food – not just any kind of food! I like collecting, curating and innovating recipes. This obsession about food comes from my folks – as a family we are all obsessed about good food! I cook/ bake in the mornings only to get the food shots in the natural light – which is amazing for food photography.

tinabasu2

Why I like what I do?

Currently, I am loving my space. I have huge plans for my baby biz and I am sure I’ll enjoy the journey even later. Blogging has opened new doors for me – meeting new people, reading new people, working with brands, events and so many things. It has taught me to manage myself online and offline.
I have been involved in trade marketing and branding for long enough to manage an entire advertising agency may be. But when I am doing it myself I am the boss, I am the creative director, I am my accounts department and I am my marketing and PR person too! That’s like – learning from grass root level!
Every day is action packed in life – that is exactly how I like it and it also makes sure I don’t have any Monday Morning Blues!


 

I appreciate Tina for sharing her day here and wish her a great journey ahead!.You can follow her on Twitter and Instagram for your daily dose of eyegasm!

 

 

2 thoughts on “In Conversation with Tina Basu!

Leave a comment