Sunday is her Holiday

I wish I could fall sick… Sounds weird right?? But sometimes the idea of falling sick seems a luxury. Taking a break from the constant running to keep up with the time… home, office, domestic chores, grocery shopping, traveling and so on. It is silly though but who would not want to stay in bed all day and be cared and get pampering done instead of taking care of everything in the house.

6 am:  I woke up after a sleep of 6 hours and I am feeling fresh that I could get a nice sleep of 6 hours. I had to stay up late as I had some presentation to finish.  Today, I look forward to spending a great day and get some time out for myself.
I prepare myself a cup of coffee and sits down with the newspaper.

7.10 am: The phone beeped…  I picked up the call and the house help informed me that she is not well and taking off today. Sigh!!
I went to the kitchen to prepare breakfast and decided to make Pasta.

7.45 am: Mr. A has woken up. “Can I get a cup of Tea ?”. I heard him from the bedroom. I served him tea, thinking in mind that I will ask him to book a movie show for the afternoon.

11.20 am: Cleaning done, laundry done, I realized I have not ordered groceries last night and went to buy some from the supermarket.

1:00 pm: As I was pondering over what to cook for lunch, the doorbell rang, Ding-dong!!
I opened the door and saw my sister-in-law and her family standing and smiling at me. I was shocked (not surprised) and the next few hours went in cooking, chatting and seeing them off.

6.30 pm: I was tired after day and felt like taking an off the next day, it reminded me that there were few emails pending and I switched on my laptop. Work comes first, you see.

9:00 pm: Mr. A has offered me to help with the dinner and we made a vegetable sandwich and some soup together.
I got inspired by a video and jumped to share with all.

Taking a step towards change, COLORS is starting a people’s movement called #SundayIsHerHoliday and is inviting every man (and woman) to participate in it. The goal of the campaign is to inspire and help men take over the Sunday chores of women, so she can get her much needed time off. The campaign wants to start by inspiring action and kicking-off a conversation around #SundayIsHerHoliday.

Gender equality begins at home and there is a need to make people understand that a woman also deserves a day –off.

A growing number of men are taking on the responsibility of caring for children and taking up household chores as their partner works. But a lot still needs to be done in breaking down traditional gender stereotypes.

I am blessed to have Mr. A and he believes in equality. He helps me in domestic chores and we are supporting this movement.

If you wish to bring this change, please share this and be the change at your house!

 

Today is Day 28 of the #DailyChatter by BlogChatter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Sunday is her Holiday

Leave a Reply

