Do Opposites Really Attract?

“What good is the warmth of summer, without the cold of winter to give it sweetness”
I always wondered, do opposites really attract?

Ours was going to be a typical arrange marriage.Our parents came in touch through some matrimonial portal and found the profile suitable to their respective requirements of BAHU (Daughter-in-law) and DAMAD (Son-in-law). A date was fixed when the boy and the girl will meet along with their families, in a month’s time.

It was a hot Saturday evening in the month of June, I remember the day clearly when Mr. A(The handsome Boy) flew down to my city and visited along with his parents and siblings. Greetings were served and both the families were in discussions, getting to know each other.

We (Mr. A and I) were asked to have a different table to talk and discuss. Our conversations started with a little shyness but then we did not realise how much time passed and we were kind of comfortable in each other company.

Our families have already made a decision in their mind but were waiting for our decisions.We both passed that night, completely sleep deprived, at our respective places, thinking about if we have found the right person to spend our lives with. By the next morning, I made my mind and I gave the affirmation to my family.

Post breakfast, I came to know that Mr. A wanted to meet me again before deciding something ( he didn’t know anything about my decision till then). I went to meet him in a restaurant with several thoughts in mind and that meeting lasted for an hour. We were two personalities, poles apart and he wanted to be sure if I shall be able to accept the differences and then take the decision.

 We were engaged in a month’s time!! After three months of our courtship period, we got married and the new life started.

We did not fell in love the first time we met. Our story is not a “Happily–Ever-After”. We do fight over petty issues but eventually we settle down our arguments.We have fallen in love with each other’s likings, disliking, humour and habits. These years have been wonderful with awesome and awful situations.

Do you agree with Raymond Hulls’s saying ??-

All marriages are happy. It’s the living together afterward that causes all the trouble.

Marriage is the most real thing one lives through. We have grown up to understand each other better, grown up to be more mature and grown up to handle our relationship with more trust and mutual respect. Not to mention that we have grown up to weigh more too.

Today, when we are completing three years of knowing each other, I want to tell him that I want to Grow Old With Him. And that We will keep our Love intact and prove that Opposites attract !!

While writing this, a song came into mind. Here are some of the lyrics:

I wanna grow old with you
I wanna die lying in your arms
I wanna grow old with you
I wanna be looking in your eyes
I wanna be there for you
Sharing in everything you do
I wanna grow old with you

You can watch the video here.

This post is written as a part of the picture prompt  #Friday Reflections hosted by Sanch of Living My Imperfect Life and Corrinne of  Write Tribe. 



5 thoughts on “Do Opposites Really Attract?

  1. Parul Thakur says:

    That’s a sweet post. And I do believe that opposites attract. Out story is one like that but I also believe that one rises in love and not falls😉
    That’s a great quote. Marriage is different but if people who love each other get married, I see happiness. That doesn’t means that love cannot happen after marriage. So it’s the person who makes one fall in love. Good post!
    Sharing our 10 year old story –


  2. Sanch @ Living my Imperfect Life says:

    The quote by Hull made me smile…living together is a test. My partner and I are engaged and living together… That’s the hard bit which we are still working on. It’s a lovely story you’ve got about relationships…I think some differences are essential so as to not make the relationship boring. Thanks for linking up!


Leave a Reply

